Policies and Fees
Below are a list of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about my practice and services offered:
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
How long are the appointments?
The standard meeting time for most therapy sessions is 45 minutes, however sometimes it is necessary to schedule longer appointments as needed and due to the nature of the treatment provided. Intake interview appointments are typically 90 minutes.
Do you offer telehealth appointments?
Yes! I offer both in person and telehealth appointments.
Where is the physical office located?
My office is located at 792 Union Street, Floor 2, in Park Slope, Brooklyn. Please note that I am currently only offering in person appointments on Monday and Tuesday.
What are your fees and when is payment due?
Fees are based on the standard 45-minute session. Most people typically require only weekly 45-minute sessions. Rates are increased yearly.
Here are a list of rates for new clients as of January 1, 2023:
90-minute intake session: $700
45-minute therapy session: $350
60-minute therapy session: $467
90-minute session: $700
A credit card is kept on file and the balance due will be charged at the time of the appointment.
What is your cancellation policy?
I kindly ask that you please remember to cancel or reschedule your appointment at least 24 hours in advance. If you do not cancel your appointment 24 hours in advance or do not show to your appointment, you will be charged for the full fee. This is because a time commitment is made to you and is held exclusively for you, unless you are able to reschedule within the week. If you are late for a session, you may lose some of that session time.
Can you prescribe medication?
As a clinical psychologist, I do not prescribe medications. However, I often work closely with psychiatrists and psychiatric nurse practitioners, who can prescribe medications. I can provide you with trusted referrals if you choose to pursue medication management.
Do you accept insurance?
No, I do not accept insurance and am considered an out-of-network provider. You may receive full or partial reimbursement for the cost of your sessions through your health insurance if your insurance provider offers out-of-network coverage. Clients can receive a monthly superbill upon request which includes the necessary information to assist with any out-of-network reimbursement requests, if eligible.
How do I check with my insurance company for out-of-network reimbursement?
I recommend that you speak to your insurance company to inquire about your specific coverage and out-of-network reimbursement eligibility. Other helpful questions to ask are below:
Do I have out-of-network coverage?
Is there an annual deductible that I need to meet first?
Do I need preauthorization?
What percentage do you cover for out-of-network mental health providers?
Is there a specific claim form that I must use to submit for reimbursement?
Your insurance will likely ask for more specific information about the services provided, which is listed below:
CPT (Procedure) Codes:
90791 (initial consultation)
90834 (45 minute therapy session)
90847 (family therapy with patient present)
90846 (family therapy without the patient present)
For telehealth sessions, the modifier “95” will be added at the end of each CPT Code for all services.
Provider and Practice Information:
Amber Ufford, Ph.D.
Tax ID (EIN): 87-3480455
New York State License #: 021843
Connecticut State License #: 4661
No Surprises Act
You have the right to receive a “Good Faith Estimate” explaining how much your medical care will cost.
Under the law, health care providers need to give patients who don’t have insurance or who are not using insurance an estimate of the bill for medical items and services.
You have the right to receive a Good Faith Estimate for the total expected cost of any non-emergency items or services. This includes related costs like medical tests, prescription drugs, equipment, and hospital fees.
Make sure your health care provider gives you a Good Faith Estimate in writing at least 1 business day before your medical service or item. You can also ask your health care provider, and any other provider you choose, for a Good Faith Estimate before you schedule an item or service.
If you receive a bill that is at least $400 more than your Good Faith Estimate, you can dispute the bill.
Make sure to save a copy or picture of your Good Faith Estimate.
For questions or more information about your right to a Good Faith Estimate, visit www.cms.gov/nosurprises or call 1-800-985-3059.